View Full Version : SpyWiper or something to that extent
Have any of you guys been subject to persistant trojans by a Georgia based company called SpyWare, SpyWiper, etc...? I have, and so have many others. Of course I reconfigured my internet settings, security, and traced them a few times. But I want to go further.
It's not right that this company is hacking into computers by resetting your homepage, opening your drives, launching an annoying notepad message, and preventing you from having a pleasurable surfing experience everytime you turn on your computer.
If anybody has any info on the SpyWiper operation, or also want to join my need to punish these atrocious people. 5P33K UP!!!!:angry:
mikeenglish
01-27-2004, 01:06 PM
Hello
I am brand new to the site and hope to be able to contribute over time. For now I am plauged by the spy wiper adds, how do I rid my system of this?
Many thanks
Mike
spores
01-30-2004, 03:53 PM
I am currently in the midst of tracking down Rob and Kathy Martinson, the owners of Mailwiper, Inc, which owns Spywiper. They are suspiciously difficult to contact. A google search on "Rob Martinson" yeilds many results complaining about his company's markting techniques, which seem to involve using spyware to install and run on unsuspecting computers advertisements for their software.
Go to the following links for detailed descriptions of various attempts to stop this company's activities:
http://tired-of-spam.home.comcast.net/spywiper.html
http://www.netrn.net/archives2/000320.html
http://www.netrn.net/spywareblog/
http://www.computing.net/security/wwwboard/forum/7859.html
http://www.whitis.com/mailwiper.htm
Much internet searching yeilds some rather useless information about the company. They are incorporated in Atlanta, GA, with the following addresses listed in different places:
905 Roberts Landing CV
Atlanta, GA 30350
8725 Roswell Rd. #104
Atlanta, GA
The phone number listed for thier company is 770-518-1519. When you call this number, you get a recorded message (perhaps this is Kathy herself speaking!) telling you two different email addresses to which you may send an email for help. There is no way to leave a message or talk to a person.
A nice man named Stephen at www.whitis.com (See above link for full description) emailed Rob Martinson (rob@mailwiper.com) and actually got a reply. Rob included his phone number: 770-642-1117. As of this posting (January 30, 2004), that number is disconnected.
There is no listing in the Atlanta yellow pages for Rob Martinson's company. The Atlanta white pages has no listing for a Rob, Robert, Bob, Kathy, or Cathy Martinson in or nar Atlanta. These people are making themselves difficult to find. Maybe they don't want to be held accountable for screwing up people's computers.
Seems that Rob Martinson also owns a company called Eskrawl, a spamming operation.
Good luck getting the spyware off your computer, and please help in the effort to track these people down and let them know that you are unhappy with their immoral and harmful marketing practices.
busted
03-24-2004, 04:20 PM
http://www.dcor.state.ga.us/OffenderQuery/asp/offenderQueryForm.asp
Go here. Type Martinson in the last name field. Then proceed to check all past and present offenders. Then enjoy! That's your boy in living color.
kryptech.net
03-24-2004, 05:55 PM
well if your on windows(which I hate) you could just use SpyBot
inkedmn
03-24-2004, 09:34 PM
agreed, spybot's the best i've used (and i deal with spyware *a lot* at work
Strike
03-25-2004, 01:45 PM
Personally I prefer AdAware, but I usually run both just in case :)
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.