PDA

View Full Version : Emails with attachments being returned


stump
06-17-2004, 07:48 PM
heres my error message:

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at smtp-1.hrnoc.net.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.


216.120.225.15 failed after I sent the message.
Remote host said: 550-This message contains a prohibited phrase and has been rejected for
550 delivery.

apparently the person im sending to is telling me that my emails are not getting to her cause HR is blocking them with some spam filter they have on?

does that make any sense?

ive emailed attachments to other peeps without any problems. looking for an help at all.

thanks all

TrumpetMan
12-02-2004, 02:58 PM
Hi Stump,

I see that this post is pretty old. I'm getting the same thing for one of the users on the domain that I manage. Can you tell me if you ever got an answer to your question?

Thanks,
Paul

JDCMAN
02-01-2005, 09:59 AM
heres my error message:

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at smtp-1.hrnoc.net.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.


216.120.225.15 failed after I sent the message.
Remote host said: 550-This message contains a prohibited phrase and has been rejected for
550 delivery.

apparently the person im sending to is telling me that my emails are not getting to her cause HR is blocking them with some spam filter they have on?

does that make any sense?

ive emailed attachments to other peeps without any problems. looking for an help at all.

thanks all

So I'm not the only one...

If you say "attachment" or "attached" a program called SpamAssasin that filters email and gives it a point rating based on Bayes filtering. Lets say the threshold was a 15. Viagra is a 3, meds is a 1.2, all in red is a 10...so on and so forth. If an email's characteristics are 15+, it is considered spam and rejected either incoming/outgoing.

Saying the phrase "attachment" automatically rejects the email. I contacted support with a TT. Few back and forth attempts. The final response:


Hi (my name here),

It appears that the particular message you were trying to
send is being caught as spam.

In order to combat the unsolicated email problem of today's
Internet each entity on the Internet must carefully examine
the email leaving their networks, for unsolicated mailings.
What you are seeing is our efforts in this regard.

We screen our outgoing mail in order to reduce/prevent the
explosion of unsolicated email on the Internet. We also do
this to ensure that mail from our network will continue to
be accepted by remote networks.


To help us accomplish this one of the tools we use is
Spamassassin. Additional information as to why your message
may have been tagged as unsolicated email can be found at
the following URL:

http://www.spamassassin.org (Please note that since the TT spamassain.org got taken over by one of those annoying affiliate pages, and the new url is http://spamassassin.apache.org/)

We also cannot add any domain or sender to a whitelist that
would allow any mail from that person to leave our network
unchecked. In the same manner we cannot whitelist any
recipients, or subjects.

Thank you, and please have a nice day.

David Laube
HostRocket Support



Stuff taken from the link:



This Is The First I've Heard About It!
You should have been informed that this was going to happen. We plaster this message all over our installation manuals, website, etc. However, we still receive reports from people whose first contact with SpamAssassin is when it suddenly appears in their mail -- which indicates that whoever installed it on their mail systems never bothered to tell them about it. Unsurprisingly, we think this is a little unprofessional.

Typically the person to contact is your ISP's tech support department, your web hosting company's tech support department, or your systems administrator.





My ISP Says They Know Nothing About It!
Recently, we've noticed a lot of companies who host websites, set up SpamAssassin on those accounts. This means that all mail traffic sent to addresses at that website are filtered.

Even though the ISP that you connect to the internet through, does not know anything about it, the website hosting ISP is another possibility. \\



MOST IMPORTANTLY:



How Can I Turn It Off?
You have two options. Firstly, SpamAssassin can be made a lot less sensitive. To do this, ask your systems administrator or ISP's helpdesk to "increase the SpamAssassin threshold".

Alternatively, if you just want all your mail, unfiltered, ask your systems administrator or ISP's helpdesk to "add your address to the whitelist_to list".


To say "It is not company policy" is fine. But to outright lie to me...unprofessional. No other word for it.

Again, quote support:


...We also cannot add any domain or sender to a whitelist that
would allow any mail from that person to leave our network
unchecked. In the same manner we cannot whitelist any
recipients, or subjects...


And quote the SpamAssassin website:


...Alternatively, if you just want all your mail, unfiltered, ask your systems administrator or ISP's helpdesk to "add your address to the whitelist_to list"...

Viper007Bond
02-01-2005, 03:37 PM
So, in dummy terms, what exactly is going on? HR is filtering outgoing messages to stop their servers for being used as spam or what?

RammsteinNicCag
02-01-2005, 04:09 PM
Stump, I think you might be reading something the wrong way. I'm under the impression that HR physically CAN put someone on a whitelist, but they WON'T - the reason being 'what if they do end up spamming?' or something.

I do agree that we should have been told about this and about some other things.... :\

Jennifer

KLH
02-01-2005, 04:45 PM
Saying the phrase "attachment" automatically rejects the email.

YIKES! So lets get this straight. If I send an email and it has the word attachment it gets blocked?
Also if I send an e-mail, and it has an attachment of an .exe file it get deleted (with no notice being sent to either parties?)
This seems unacceptable to me.

JDCMAN
02-01-2005, 05:25 PM
YIKES! So lets get this straight. If I send an email and it has the word attachment it gets blocked?
Also if I send an e-mail, and it has an attachment of an .exe file it get deleted (with no notice being sent to either parties?)
This seems unacceptable to me.
Yeah...whenever I say "attachment" or "attach..." its refused. Does anybody else have problems?

Brendan
02-01-2005, 05:35 PM
Send your attachment as a zip file and you should be good to go correct? This is not a new policy by any means, its been like this for almost a year.

Brendan

KLH
02-01-2005, 05:49 PM
Yeah...whenever I say "attachment" or "attach..." its refused. Does anybody else have problems?
I am forced to use my ISP's SMTP service, so I cannot test this and see..

EDIT: I tried using webmail, and the e-mail went through just fine..

Viper007Bond
02-01-2005, 08:28 PM
Also if I send an e-mail, and it has an attachment of an .exe file it get deleted (with no notice being sent to either parties?)
I know for a fact that's the case and there's a thread around here somewhere containing a big huge rant by me on how I totally find that unacceptable.

Why should I be inconvienced because some people are irresponsible with their e-mail addresses and accounts?

I get next to 0 spam (literally) and always have because I don't plaster my e-mail addresses everywhere.

As I said in my thread, I can understand the EXE filtering, but a note to either party or even better, the stripped message, would be much better.

One of my few, and largest, gripes about HR.

MagicOPromotion
06-12-2009, 03:22 AM
I remember a couple of years ago POWWEB was having problems being blocked by AOL and others. Has this problem resurfaced?

I just got this email from one of my email users. Ive inquired into what service the receiver uses:

I keep sending (http://www.botmasternet.com/) email to a girl...she never gets them...i have tried 2 different emails......she finally got one from me this weekend but now it wont take them again....what could be wrong...this has happened with one another last week...

Mark Thomas
09-17-2009, 09:09 PM
There are some company that block mails recived form other company servers. They block it as it might be a spam, in our company too, i cannot recieve the mail sent from the server of some companies, i usually face this problem when some of my friends send some mails. but i can receive it when they send it from their personal email id. but i feel the word attachment is a filter there. Thanks